No agenda found

A summer with Seurat: Pointillism and dance by NJO (15.00 hrs.)

The museum is full of things to do during the exhibition Seurat. Master of pointillism. In a playful, entertaining and creative way, everyone can become acquainted with Seurat. On 12 August, there will be a concert in the Rietveld Pavilion in the sculpture garden.

The term pointillism is also used in classical music. The NJO Phantasy Ensemble has compiled a special programme for the exhibition, with work by Claude Debussy, Dave Bruce, Prokofiev and Robert Zuidam.
The French impressionist composer Claude Debussy, a contemporary of Seurat, also employed pointillist techniques. By dividing-up his melodies among different musicians and instruments, he created an entirely unique timbre and structure. The various fragments of the melody blend together to form a whole. Debussy wrote music for Diaghilev’s dance company ‘Ballet Russes’ and beautiful piano pieces with a dancing character. In this programme, the NJO Phantasy Ensemble plays a number of these pieces by Debussy for string quartet.

Other works in the programme also have dance as their theme; Dave Bruce wrote the clarinet quintet Gumboots inspired by a South African folk dance. The gumboot dance is known all over the world by now, but its origins lie among the repressed mineworkers of South Africa. While working in the mines, the miners accompanied their own singing with rhythmic motifs by stamping the ground in their rubber boots. This became increasingly widespread when the authorities banned them from playing their drums.

Prokofiev composed a ballet for a Russian dance company, entitled Trapéze. He was, however, a man of foresight and composed the piece in such a way that it could also be performed without dancers. The première was indeed a great success and when the company disbanded shortly afterwards, the original choreography was also lost. The music remains. Thank goodness!

Info and tickets


Debussy - La fille aux cheveux de lin
Zuidam - Variazioni sopra un tema di Niccolo Paganini
Debussy - Dance (Tarantelle Styrienne)
Bruce - Gumboots
Debussy - Ballet (from Petite Suite)
Prokofiev - Quintet (for the ballet Trapéze)
NJO Ensemble:
Arthur Klaassens – oboe
Jesse Faber – (bass) clarinet
Raphaella Engelsberg, Maxime Gulikers – violin
Dirk Feller – viola
Anastasia Feruleva – cello
Len Bielars – double bass

The concert is free of charge for everyone with a valid entry ticket for De Hoge Veluwe National Park and the Kröller-Müller Museum. Tip: visit!

Image: outdoor concert NJO (c) Nic Limper